Researchers

Faculty Members

Abel Baerga, Ph.D.

Abel_Baerga-OrtizEmail: abel.baerga@upr.edu

Research: Biosynthesis of natural products.

Contact: 787-758-2525 X-1603 -1640 | Lab: RCM

Web Page: https://md.rcm.upr.edu/biochemistry/

Profile: https://md.rcm.upr.edu/biochemistry/dt_team/dr-abel-baerga-ortiz/

 

Abimael Rodríguez, Ph.D.

abimael_rodriguez-1-244x300Email: abimael.rodriguez1@upr.edu

Research: New bioactive compounds from marine organisms.

Contact: 787-764-0000 X. 88575 | Lab: Molecular Sciences Building

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=abimael-d-rodriguez

Profile: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Abimael_D_Rodriguez

Adelfa E. Serrano, Ph.D.

Adelfa-Serranooo-1-227x300Email: adelfa.serrano@upr.edu

Research: RCMI-Center for Molecular Genetics and Infectious Diseases

Contact: Office: (787) 758-2525, X-1313; | Lab: (787) 758-2525, X-2217, X-1314 | Rm A-310, Rm A-346, Rm A 349

Web Page: http://connect.rtrn.net/profilesweb/ProfileDetails.aspx?From=SE&Person=3193&PersonSource=University%20of%20Puerto%20Rico

Profile: https://md.rcm.upr.edu/micro/dt_team/dr-adelfa-e-serrano/

Alfredo Ghezzi, Ph.D.

Alfredo_Ghezzi-1-300x300Email: alfredo.ghezzi@upr.edu

Research: Molecular Neuroscience, Behavioral Genetics, Neuroadaptation and Addiction

Contact: 787-764 0000 X. 32767, 32767 | Lab:  JGD-203

Profile: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Alfredo_Ghezzi

 

 

Ana Guadalupe, Ph.D.

3-ana-guadalupe-1-212x300Email: lupita1029@gmail.com

Research: Development of bioselective electrodes.

Contact: 787-764-0000 X-88537 | Lab: FB-101A

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=ana-r-guadalupe-quinones

Profile: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Ana_Guadalupe_Quinones

 

Andrew Seeds, Ph.D.

AndrewSeedsEmail: seeds.andrew@gmail.com

Research: Neural Circuits and Behavior

Contact: 787-721-4149 X-236 | Lab: 318 Instituto de Neurobiología, San Juan

Web Page: http://www.seedshampellab.com/

Profile: https://www.cienciapr.org/en/user/seedsa

Anthony V. Washington, Ph.D.

Anthony-V.-WashingtonEmail: anthony.washington@upr.edu

Research: Inmuno-hemostasis

Contact: X-88149 -88150 | Lab: JGD-215

Web Page: https://uprmdacc.upr.edu/

Profile: https://uprmdacc.upr.edu/profile-uprmdacc/792-a-valance

Arthur Tinoco, Ph.D.

ArthurTinocoEmail: atinoco9278@gmail.com

Research: Development of Ti(IV)-based anticancer comleses using FE(III) chelating ligands that model the metal binding site of transferring. 

Contact: X-88510 | Lab: FB-102

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=arthur-d-tinoco

Brad Weiner, Ph.D.

Brad-weiner-211x300Email: brad@hpcf.upr.edu

Research: Nanoparticles for cancer imaging.

Contact: X-55574 | Lab. FB-147

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=brad-r-weiner

 

Bruno Marie, Ph.D.

Dr.Bruno-Marie-closeEmail: brunomariemail@gmail.com

Research: Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Synaptic Homeostasis

Contact: 787-724-1024

Web Page: http://www.neuro.upr.edu/

Profile: http://www.neuro.upr.edu/?q=dr.-b.-marie

 

Carlos R. Cabrera, Ph.D.

CarlosCabreraEmail: carlos.cabrera2@upr.edu

Research: Analytical Chemistry (electrochemistry), Hotoelectrochemistry Batteries, Electrocatalysis (fuel cells), Surface Analysis.

Contact: Office 787-523-5310

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=carlos-cabrera

Carlos González, Ph.D.

carlos-gonzalez-300x200Email: cigonzalez@uprrp.edu

Research: Post-Transcriptional control of gene expression.

Contact: X-88121 -88122 | Lab. JGD-107

Web Page: http://cicim.upr.edu/faculty-members/

 

Carlos Jiménez, Ph.D.

Carlos-JimenezEmail: carlos.jimenez8@upr.edu

Research: Changes in Ih current channel’s subunites 2 and 4 during the expression of cocaine sensitization.

Contact: 787-758-2525, X-1676 -1677 | Lab. RCM A-688, A-682

Web Page: https://md.rcm.upr.edu/physiology/

Profile: https://md.rcm.upr.edu/physiology/dt_team/dr-carlos-a-jimenez-rivera/

Dalice Piñero, Ph.D.

Dalice-Pinero-1-201x300Email: dalice.pinerocruz@uprrp.edu

Research: Synthesis of metal complexees and multidimensional networks for their application. / Materials sciences and Nanomedicine

Contact: 787-764-0000 X. 88559 | Lab. FB 135C

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=Dalice-M-PInERO-CRUZ

Profile: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Dalice_Pinero_Cruz

Eduardo Caro, Ph.D.

Eduardo J. Caro, Ph.D.Email: eduardo.caro1@upr.edu

Research: Pharmacology

Contact: 787-758-2525 X-5433

Web Page: http://farmacia.rcm.upr.edu/faculty/

Profile: https://pr.linkedin.com/in/eduardo-j-e-caro-diaz-b8999396

Eduardo Nicolau, Ph.D.

Eduardo-Nicolau-193x300Email: eduardo.nicolau@upr.edu

Research: Analytical: Studies on the efficiency of polymeric bio-nanomaterials for applications in bone tissue engineering and sensing of metabolites.

Contact: X-88567 | Lab. FB-314

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=eduardo-nicolau

Esther Peterson, Ph.D.

Esther-Peterson-1-202x300 Email: esther.peterson@upr.edu

Reasearch: Breast Cancer: the role of the cytoskeleton and EGFR signal transduction pathway

Contact: 787-764 0000 X. 88129, 88130 | Lab:  JGD-116

Web Page: https://www.cienciapr.org/es/user/epeterson80

Profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/estherpeterson/

Gary Toranzos, Ph.D.

Gary-Toranzos Email: gary.toranzos@upr.edu

Research: Environmental Microbiology Ecology.

Contact: X-88118 – 88119 | Lab. JGD-102

Web Page: https://www.asm.org/Biographies/Gary-Toranzos

Profile: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Gary_Toranzos

Gregory Quirk, Ph.D.

Gregory-QuirkEmail: gregoryjquirk@gmail.com

Research: Neuronal mechanism of learning and extinction of fear.

Contact: 787-999-3058 | Lab. RCM A-682

Web Page: https://md.rcm.upr.edu/anatomyneurobiology/

Profile: https://md.rcm.upr.edu/anatomyneurobiology/dr-gregory-j-quirk/

Ingrid Montes, Ph.D.

Ingrid_Montes_2-1Email: ingrid.montes2@upr.edu

Research: Synthesis and characterization of 1,1″-diacetyl

Contact: 787-764-0000 X. 88502 | Lab: CN – 319

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=ingrid-montes

Profile: https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/careers/college-to-career/chemists/montes.html

Jorge L.Colón, Ph.D.

Jorge-Colon-200x300Email: jorge1962cr@gmail.com

Research: Biosensors and drug delivery using layered inorganic nanomaterials.

Contact: X-88543 | Lab. FB-105

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=jorge-l-colon

 

José Agosto, Ph.D.

Jose-AgostoEmail: jose.agosto1@upr.edu

Research: Genetic control of sleep and circadian rhythms in the Drosophila Melanogaster.

Contact: X-88064 | Lab. NCN

Web Page: http://biology.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://biology.uprrp.edu/research/view_employee.php?id=196

José A. Lasalde Ph.D.

José-A.-Lasalde Email: jlasalde@gmail.com

Research: Acetylcholine receptor structure and function; Lipid-protein interactions in biological membranes; Neuronal acetylcholine receptor and nicotine addiction.

Contact: X-88125 -88126 | Lab. JGD-114

Web Page: http://nachrs.org/

Profile: http://nachrs.org/pi-info/

José A. Rodríguez, Ph.D.

Jose-Rodriguez-Martinez-300x200 Email: jose.rodriguez233@upr.edu

Research: Functional genomics, molecular recognition of nucleid acids, gene regulation, protein DNA interactions, transcription factors, biophysics.

Contact: X-88131 | Lab. JGD-120

Web Page: http://biology.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://biology.uprrp.edu/department_info/view_employee.php?id=397

José E. García-Arrarás, Ph.D.

Jose Garcia Arraras BWEmail: jegarcia@hpcf.upr.edu

Research: In vivo and in vitro development of the peripheral nervous system; Neuropeptides and neurotransmitters nervous system regeneration in invertebrates.

Contact: X-88151 -88152 | Lab. JGD-220

Web Page: http://neuroid.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://neuroid.uprrp.edu/index.php/team/dr-jose-e-garcia-arraras/

José M. Rivera, Ph.D.

jose_riveraEmail: jmrivort@gmail.com

Research: Organic Chemistry: Molecular recognition, Supramolecular chemistry, Nanotechnology, Bioorganic chemistry, Organic synthesis.

Contact: X-88575

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=jose-rivera

José O. Colón, Ph.D.

José Colón, Ph.D. - 1Email: jose.colonsaez@upr.edu

Research: Understanding the role of nAChR’s in the development of inflammation and subsequent neurodegeneration which has been shown to be involved in the development of many disease states such as Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s disease as well as HIV associated neurocognitive disorders

Contact: 787-758-2525 X- 5090 | Lab: Anexo 321

Web Page: http://farmacia.rcm.upr.edu/faculty/

Profile: http://farmacia.rcm.upr.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/15/2017/02/Professor_Profile_Jos%C3%A9_Col%C3%B3n.pdf

Kai Griebenow, Ph.D.

kai-hans-griebenow-12Email: kai.griebenow@gmail.com

Research: Biochemistry: Structure-guided protein encapsulation, non-aqueous enzymology, protein formulation, protein stability, protein glycosylation, relationship between protein structural dynamics and enzyme activity, PEG modification of proteins, bio-fuel cells.

Contact: X-88537 | Lab: FB-215

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=kai-hans-griebenow

Liz M. Díaz, Ph.D.

Liz_Diaz-300x300Email: liz.diaz2@upr.edu

Research: Scientific Communication in Diverse Educational Contexts

Contact: 787-764 0000 X. 83503 | CN-129

Web Page: https://www.researchgate.net/

Profile: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Liz_Diaz

 

Magaly Martínez, Ph.D.

Dra.-Magaly-MartínezEmail: magaly.martinez1@upr.edu

Research: Cancer Research. Inflammatory mediators of prostate cancer metastasis and response to curcumin.

Contact: 787-772-8300 X-1106 -1403 | Lab. Centro Comprensivo de Cancer

Web Page: http://farmacia.rcm.upr.edu/

Profile: http://farmacia.rcm.upr.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/15/2016/09/Profile_Magaly_Martinez.pdf

Mark Miller, Ph.D.

MMiller_1Email: mark.miller@upr.edu

Research: Neural parasitology

Contact: (787)-721-4149

Web Page: http://www.neuro.upr.edu/

Profile: http://www.neuro.upr.edu/?q=markm

Marvin Bayro, Ph.D.

Marvin-BayroEmail: marvin.bayro@gmail.com

Research: Analysis of protein structure and dynamics in HIV maturation.

Contact: 787-523-5326

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=Marvin-Bayro

Néstor M. Carballeira, Ph.D.

thumb_IMG_1442_1024Program Director

Email: nestor.carballeira1@upr.edu

Research: Organic Chemistry: Organic reaction mechanisms, lipid chemistry and biosynthesis of marine natural products.

Contact: X-88561 | Lab. FB-119

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=nestor-m-carballeira

Olga Mayol, Ph.D.

Olga-Mayol-300x200Email: omayol@ites.upr.edu

Research: Atmospheric Chemistry and Aerosols Research (ACAR)

Contact: 787-764-0000 X-88191 – 88192 | Lab: FB 001

Web page: http://web.ites.upr.edu/

Profile: http://web.ites.upr.edu/faculty-members/olga-l-mayol-bracero

Orestes R. Quesada, Ph.D.

OrestesQuesada-266x300Program Coordinator

Research: Biochemistry: How chemical nature of detergents affects the lipid composition of detergent-solubilized nAChR from Torpedo californica tissue.

Contact: X-88152 | Lab: FB-300

Web Page: http://nachrs.org/

Profile: http://nachrs.org/dt_team/orestes-quesada-gonzalez/

Pablo VIvas, Ph.D.

Paul Bayman, Ph.D.

Paul Bayman BWEmail: bayman.upr@gmail.com

Research: Mycology and plant pathology; Bioremediation; Mycotoxins.

Contact: X-88141 | Lab: JGD-205

Web Page: http://biology.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://biology.uprrp.edu/research/view_employee.php?id=92

Riccardo Papa, Ph.D.

Riccardo_Papa-300x300Email: rpapa.lab@gmail.com

Research: Complex modular architecture around a simple toolkit of wing pattern genes

Contact: X-88133 | Lab: JGD-213

Web Page: http://ricpapa.wixsite.com/papa-riccardo-lab

Profile: http://ricpapa.wixsite.com/rpapalab/about

 

Torsten Stelzer, Ph.D.

Torsten-StelzerEmail: torsten.stelzer@upr.edu

Research: Pharmaceutical crystallization, Small-scale manufacturing, Process intensification

Contact: 787-523-5303 | Lab: Molecular Sciences Building

Web Page: http://farmacia.rcm.upr.edu/

Profile: http://farmacia.rcm.upr.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/15/2016/09/Profile_Torsten_Stelzer.pdf

Tugrul Giray, Ph.D.

Tugrul-GirayEmail: tugrul.giray@upr.edu

Research: Integrative study of behavioral and muscle development in a model system.

Contact: X-88135 -88136 | Lab: FB-246

Web page: http://biology.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://biology.uprrp.edu/department_info//view_employee.php?id=121

Vilmalí López, Ph.D.

Vilmali-Lopez Email: vilmali.lopez@upr.edu

Research: Biocompatible, tailored, nanocrystals, drugs nanocarriers for cancer treatment.

Contact: X-88537 | Lab: FB-101A

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=Vilmali-Lopez-Mejias

Undergraduate Students

Anqueira González, Amanda

 

Betancourt Ponce, Miguel

 

Cabrera Hernández, Luis O.

luis.cabrera5@upr.edu

Research Work:

Mentor: Orestes Quesada, Ph.D. | Biographical Sketch

 

 

 

Claudio Vázquez, Adirana P..

 

 

Díaz González, Kartiza

 

 

Franjul, Ronaldo H.

 

 

 

García Del Valle, René

 

 

 

Guadalupe Díaz, isis

isis.guadalupe@upr.edu

Research Work: Air quality and precipitation chemistry

Mentor: Olga Mayol, Ph.D.| Biographical Sketch

 

 

 

Malavé Méndez, Thaybeth I.

 

 

 

Martínez Guadalupe, Anna C.

 

 

 

Mejías Rivera, Loreilys

 

Miranda Méndez, Glorimar

 

 

Morán Sierra, Jonathan

 

 

 

Negrón Figueroa, Dalissa

 

 

Nieves López, Benjamín

 

Penabad Peña, Laura I.

laura.penabad@upr.edu

Research Work: Abstract – Laura I. Penabad

Mentor: Eduardo Nicolau, Ph.D.| Biographical Sketch

 

 

Pichardo Peguero, Oliver D.

oliver.pichardo@upr.edu

Research Work: Pichardo Peguero, Oliver D.

Mentor: Dalice Piñero, Ph.D.| Biographical Sketch

 

 

 

Ramos González, Gabriela

 

 

Rivera Cordero, Génesis R.

 

 

 

Rodríguez Bonilla, Laura M.

 

 

Rodríguez Villafañe, Andrea
Rosa Vidal, Jorge E.
Santiago Pagán, Lisby
Vales Torres, Xariana D.

 

 

Graduate Students

Acosta Mercado, Jemily

 

 

 

Alsina Sánchez, Ambar

 

 

 

Benjamín Rivera, Josué A.

 

 

 

Bittman Soto, Xavier S.

 

 

 

Bosque Cordero, Karl Y.

 

 

Carrasquillo Dones, Emmanuel A.

 

 

 

Cordero Giménez, Keysha T.

Keysha Cordero - Fotokeysha.cordero@upr.edu

 

 

De León González, Kevin M.

kevin.deleon@upr.edu

 

Díaz Díaz, Lymarie M.

lymarie.diaz@upr.edu

 

 

 

Medina Feliciano, Joshua G.

joshua.medina8@upr.edu

 

 

 

Ortiz Alvarado, Carlos A.

cortiz3515@gmail.com

 

 

Ortiz Gómez, Valerie

valerie.ortiz2@upr.edu

 

 

Ortiz Rosa, Alexandra

alexandra.ortiz9@upr.edu

 

 

Pazol Ramos, Jessika

jessika.pazol@upr.edu

 

 

 

Rabelo Fernández, Robert J.

robert.rabelo@upr.edu

 

 

Ramírez Román, María E.

maria.ramirez10@upr.edu

 

Reynoso García, Jelissa

jelissa.reynoso@upr.edu

 

 

Rivera Barreto, Anthony R.

anthony.rivera9@upr.edu

 

 

 

Rivera Serrano, Mariela

mariela.rivera20@upr.edu

 

 

 

Rodríguez Cordero, Josué A.

josue.rodriguez10@upr.edu

 

 

Rodríguez Martir, Keishla M.

keishla.rodriguez1@upr.edu

 

 

Rodríguez Rodríguez, Israel

israel.rodriguez6@upr.edu

 

 

Rosado Tristani, Diego A.

diego.rosado@upr.edu

 

 

Santiago Martoral, Liz N.

liz.santiago3@upr.edu

 

 

Soto Díaz, Victoria

victoria.soto@upr.edu

 

 

Valdés Fernández, Bianca N.

bianca.valdes@upr.edu

 

 

 

Velázquez Roig, Rosalba

rosalba.velazquez@upr.edu

 

 

 

Villalobos Santos, Juan C.

juan.villalobos@upr.edu

 

 

 

Staff Members

Grisselle I. Hernández

Grisselle Hernández - Foto Actualizada B-WSecretary

Email: rise.upr@gmail.com

Contact: X-88300 | FB-300

 

 

Julissa Morales MBA

Program Administrator

Email: rise.upr@gmail.com

Contact: X-88300 | FB-300

 

 

Néstor M. Carballeira, Ph.D.

thumb_IMG_1442_1024Program Director

Email: nestor.carballeira1@upr.edu

Research: Organic Chemistry: Organic reaction mechanisms, lipid chemistry and biosynthesis of marine natural products.

Contact: X-88561 | Lab. FB-119

Web Page: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/

Profile: http://chemistry.uprrp.edu/index.php?page=nestor-m-carballeira

Orestes Quesada, Ph.D.

OrestesQuesada-266x300Program Coordinator

Research: Biochemistry: How chemical nature of detergents affects the lipid composition of detergent-solubilized nAChR from Torpedo californica tissue.

Contact: X-88152 | Lab: FB-300

Web Page: http://nachrs.org/

Profile: http://nachrs.org/dt_team/orestes-quesada-gonzalez/